Committees & Coordinators

Assessment Committee –  This contractual committee of 4 faculty (2 general education faculty and 2 occupational faculty, appointed by the WCCEA) and 3 administrators works closely with the Curriculum Committee and the office of Curriculum and Assessment to evaluate the ongoing assessment plans and reports for WCC courses, and to provide support and guidance to faculty.   This group makes recommendations to the administration, involves regular meetings throughout the semester, and its members receive reassign time for their work.  Appointments rotate, and are generally for 3 years.  The current chair of the Assessment Committee is Michelle Garey ( .

Contract Implementation – this group is made up of the WCCEA President and  WCCEA Chief Negotiator, (David Fitzpatrick, and 1-3 additional individuals from the WCCEA Executive Board.  Contract Implementation meetings are held monthly with the administration to address contractual issues and to solve problems together.

Curriculum Committee – This contractual committee of  5 faculty (at least 1 per academic division, appointed by the WCCEA) and 4 administrators works closely with the Assessment Committee and the Office of Curriculum and Assessment to evaluate the ongoing submission and revision of master syllabi for WCC courses and provides support and guidance to faculty involved in this work.   This contractual committee makes recommendations to the administration,  involves regular meetings throughout the semester, and its members receive reassign time for their work.   Appointments rotate, and are generally for 3 years.  The current chair of the Curriculum Committee is Kelley Gottschang (

Faculty Professional Development Committee – This a contractual committee made up of 5 WCCEA appointed faculty.  The committee works to promote and foster teaching excellence in all WCC instructors.  Its members meet regularly throughout the semester, coordinate in-service activities, develop and present workshops that focus on constructive innovations in teaching, and provide peer-based midterm student feedback  sessions upon request.  Its members receive reassign time, and the current chair is Mary Mullalond (

Grievance Committee – this group of WCCEA members work with faculty who have problems and/or concerns with practices in the workplace, assesses whether issues are in violation of the contract, and assists members in writing grievances when necessary.  The current chair is David Fitzpatrick (

PDE Appeals Committee – When there are appeals of the evaluations of counselors and librarians, who are not evaluated by the SOQ system, this 7 member committee of faculty and administrators is convened. Three faculty members are typically appointed by the WCCEA.  It was last convened August of 2005. The current faculty chair is Bonnie Tew (

Sabbatical Leave Committee – This committee reviews sabbatical applications and recommends their approvals to the WCC Board of Trustees.  There are 3 faculty appointed to the committee by the WCCEA, along with 2 administrators appointed by the Vice President of Instruction.  Membership terms are either for 1 or 2 years (See the Master Agreement, Section 0809.4).  The Vice President of Instruction also serves as an ex officio member of this committee. There are generally 6 sabbaticals awarded each year, and faculty members become eligible to apply after 5 uninterrupted years of service.  The current chair is Carrie Krantz (

Academic Suspension Appeal Committee convenes with administrators roughly three or four times a year, to consider the appeals of students who have been suspended.  It is comprised of administrators and faculty.  The faculty contact person for this group is Carrie Krantz (  Linda Blakey, Vice-President of Student Services, is the committee chair.

Developmental Task Force – This group of WCC faculty and administrators work together to improve and maintain the quality of WCC developmental courses.  They meet monthly throughout the school year. The current chair is Julie Kissel (

Environmental Committee – This group meets monthly and promotes environmental awareness and action in campus life.  Members are not appointed to this committee and all members are encouraged to get involved.  For more information, contact Dale Petty (, the committee chairperson.

DL-Bb Faculty Group – This group of faculty meet monthly with the Distance Learning staff to communicate about ongoing issues, design meaningful inservice events and to maintain faculty involvement with Distance Learning decisions and mandates.  The current chair is Maryam Barrie ( ).

Bookstore Advisory Coordinator – Solicits and reviews feedback each Fall and Winter term from faculty about their experience with the college bookstore, and discusses any problems with the bookstore manager.  The current coordinator is Maryam Barrie (

Condolences Coordinator – The Condolences Coordinator sends flowers to members who are ill or grieving.  The current Condolences Coordinator is Russ Ferguson (

Department Chair Liaison to WCCEA – The Department Chair Liaison to the WCCEA is a department chair who works to make sure that the communication lines between the WCCEA Board and the department chairs stay open.  The current liaison is Connie Foster (

Election Coordinator – The Election Coordinator organizes and runs each of the WCCEA elections. Area representatives are elected every year and officers are elected every two years.  Representative and officer elections take place during the March membership meeting. The current coordinator is Gregg Heidebrink (

Membership Coordinator – Enrolls new members, ensures that our membership rolls and dues are current and correct, and communicates required membership information to the MEA.  The current coordinator is Carrie Krantz (

Sickbank Coordinator – Approves use of sick bank hours (per the WCCEA Master Agreement) in the event that full time members have used up their personal sick time.  This now includes approving a limited use of the sickbank in the event that adjuncts miss class due to illness.  The current coordinator is Maryam Barrie (